IHL honors Dr. Robert Smith, Dr. Loretta Moore

Jackson State University congratulates Dr. Robert Smith on his selection as the Mississippi Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning’s community leader.

Dr. Robert Smith

Dr. Robert Smith

Smith currently serves as chair of the advisory board for the Margaret Walker Center. He also serves as associate physician at JSU.

The parkway that connects JSU to downtown Jackson was renamed for Smith in 2011 to pay tribute to his work as a medical pioneer and his courage as a Civil Rights activist.

For the past 16 years in celebration of black history, the Board of IHL has honored an individual from the state who has contributed significantly to the advancement of diversity and made a difference in his or her community by working to enhance the quality of life for not only African-Americans, but citizens of the state. Previous honorees include Dr. James Meredith, the late Dr. Margaret Walker Alexander, former Supreme Court Justice James Graves, and Gov. William Winter.

The celebration was held Thursday, Feb. 20, in the IHL board room, located at the Education and Research Center, 3825 Ridgewood Road, Jackson, Miss. The event also celebrated the 2014 Diversity Educator of the Year and honor university faculty and staff.

Dr. Loretta A. Moore

Dr. Loretta A. Moore

Dr. Loretta A. Moore, Interim Vice President for Research and Federal Relations, Professor of Computer Science at Jackson State will be among the honorees.

University honorees include: 

Dr. Darryl Grennell

Instructor of Biological Sciences

Alcorn State University


Dr. Temika Simmons

Assistant Professor of Psychology, College of Education and Human Sciences

Delta State University


Dr. Loretta A. Moore

Interim Vice President for Research and Federal Relations, Professor of Computer Science

Jackson State University


Dr. Rani Warsi Sullivan

Associate Professor, Department of Aerospace Engineering

Mississippi State University


Dr. Paula Threadgill

Associate Director of the MSU Extension Service

Mississippi State University

Division of Agriculture, Forestry and Veterinary Medicine


Dr. Kimberly Dorsey

Associate Professor of Management

Mississippi University for Women


Dr. Alphonso Sanders

Chair of the Department of Fine Arts

Mississippi Valley State University


Ms. Valeria Beasley-Ross

Assistant Dean of Students for Multicultural Affairs and Volunteer Services

The University of Mississippi


Dr. Bettina M. Beech, P.H., M.P.H.

Associate Vice Chancellor for Population Health

The University of Mississippi Medical Center


Dr. Adina Green

Assistant Director of Student Support Services in charge of the TRIO Program

The University of Southern Mississippi


1 Comment

  1. Linda Liang says:

    Congratulations, Loretta! Great to see you honored in this way, it is well deserved. Lets chat soon.
    Linda Liang

Leave a comment