Faculty Senate installs new officers at annual luncheon

Picture 1 of 60

The Faculty Senate at Jackson State University hosted its annual Luncheon and Officers Installation on Monday, May 5.

Officers for 2014-2015 are:

Dr. Glenda Winfield, President
Dr. ConSandra McNeil, Vice President
Dr. LaVerne Gentry, Secretary
Dr. Jeton McClinton, Treasurer
Dr. Emmanuel Nwagboso, Parliamentarian
Dr. David Bramlett, Sergeant at Arms

“Traditionally, this is the Faculty Senate’s closing celebratory event for senators to reflect over the year’s work, give awards and swear in its new Executive Committee officers,” says Dr. Glenda Windfield, president of the Faculty Senate. “This marks the second year the Faculty Senate has chosen to share this day with a cadre of guests representing each facet of the university to embody our collegiality and commitment to a One JSU.”

Attendees included not only faculty, but staff and administrators from various departments and divisions, stakeholders, ROTC faculty, JSU National Alumni Association (JSUNAA) Regional Vice President Vera Watson and JSU President Carolyn W. Meyers.

Provost and Vice President of Academic Affairs James C. Renick was the keynote speaker. He spoke of JSU being a world-class university and his dream of a “One JSU.” He said his vision includes a culture of collegiality void of politics for personal gain, a climate where collegiality is the norm, open communication to include genuine discussions/exchange of ideas about issues founded on the axiom that we can agree to disagree without trepidation, and an academy where “shared governance is not just a slogan, but common practice.

“Perhaps this is why the Division of Academic Affairs and the Faculty Senate blend so well; we dream the same dream,” said Faculty Senate President Dr. Glenda Windfield.

Special tribute was given to past Faculty Senate presidents: Drs. Ivory Phillips, Vernon Archer, Steve Overman, Carrine Bishop, Jacquelyn Mitchell, Mohammad Khadivi, Alisa Mosely, Mahasin Owens-Sabir, and Jean-Claude Assad. These leaders were recognized for their key role in leading the Faculty Senate in upholding and carrying out its mission as guardian of the university’s academic integrity; and advocating for the overall well being of faculty, staff and students.  Faculty senators for 2013-2014 received special recognition for their hard work and dedication.  Homage was also given to retired senators Dr. Jacquelyn Franklin and Jimmy Bell for their dedication and long years of service to the Faculty Senate.

The Division of Academic Affairs was the main sponsor of the event. The JSUNAA and the JSU Bookstore served as co-sponsors, paying for the faculty awards.  The JSUNAA donated $500 for this purpose.



Leave a comment