Berry named 2021 Delta Leadership Institute Fellow by Delta Regional Authority


The Delta Regional Authority has named Christina Berry, corporate and foundation relations officer at JSU, a fellow of the 2021 Delta Leadership Institute Executive Academy. Berry is one of four Mississippi leaders chosen for this opportunity.

Christina Berry is a (Photo special to JSU)

Christina Berry is a corporate and foundation relations officer in the Division of Institutional Advancement at JSU. (Photo special to JSU)

“It’s an amazing feeling to be recognized for the work I’ve done to improve communities, but even more so to be accepted as a fellow,” Berry said. “This institute will allow me to extend my leadership capacity so that I can take on greater roles and more complex projects as my career advances.”

The academy is an extensive, nine-month executive leadership program that brings together public, private, and non-profit sector leaders from the Delta Regional Authority’s eight-state region. The 2021 class will consist of 30 fellows.

“It will also afford me the opportunity to extend my leadership capacity and connect with some of the best corporate and non-profit executives, state leaders, and other leaders vested in the economic growth of the eight-state Delta region,” Berry added.

The program empowers fellows with the tools, experiences, and networks needed to address local and regional challenges. Sessions led by local, regional, and national experts cover policy areas such as infrastructure and transportation, small business and entrepreneurship, workforce development, public health, and other fields necessary to facilitate economic growth in the Delta.

“I hope to gain a greater understanding of the complex issues and limitations that have affected the growth of the delta region. Particularly, in my case, better develop and implement plans and proposals to improve educational and economic outcomes for students attending Jackson State and the surrounding community,” Berry said.

The Delta Regional Authority partners with three institutions of higher education in the Delta region: Arkansas State University, the University of Louisiana Monroe, and the University of Arkansas.