WJSU-FM staff and students take home broadcast awards

L.A. Warren, WJSU-FM News Director

L.A. Warren, WJSU-FM News Director

Staff and students of Jackson State University media outlet WJSU-FM earned 13 awards at the annual Mississippi Associated Press Broadcasters awards honoring the best in broadcast journalism in Mississippi for 2012.

In the professional honors division, WJSU-FM placed in four categories. Stone Abdullah, Kourtney C. Paige, and L.A. Warren took home third place honors in the “Best Spot News Story” category for their news story, “JSU-MSU Students Slain.” Warren, news director at WJSU-FM, and Larissa C. Hale, the station’s music manager, also took home another third place award in the “Best Public Affairs Reporting” category for their collaborative effort in broadcasting “Holiday Depression/Distracted Driving.”

Hale, Paige, Warren and Meredith Hairston received a third place recognition

Larissa Hale, WJSU-FM music manager

Larissa Hale, WJSU-FM music manager

for their work entitled “Live Democratic Convention Coverage” in the “Best Documentary or Series of Stories” category.

WJSU-FM was also awarded third place in “The Year in Review” category for “Best Radio Sound.”

WJSU-FM also saw success in the AP College Honors. First and second place awards were given for both “Best Documentary” and “Best News Story.” The station also took second and third place awards in the “Best Newscast” category.  Third place awards were given in the “Best Sportscast” and “Best Feature Story” category.

WJSU’s Kourtney C. Paige was also awarded the $500 Timothy Brown Scholarship.

Leave a comment