Alumni Honored at 9th Biennial Conference

Harrahs-TunicaMembers of the Jackson State University National Alumni Association convened at Harrah’s in Tunica, Miss., this past weekend to kick off their 9th Biennial Conference and honor the achievements of JSU graduates and alumni chapters from around the county.

The Rev. Dr. Robert C. Scott, pastor of Central Baptist Church is St. Louis, Mo., was the keynote speaker. Scott is a 1991 honors political science graduate from JSU.

During the conference, several awards were given. The Young Alumni Achievers Award was presented to Casey Nesbit and Telicia Smith. Nesbit is a native of Harvey, Ill., and a 1999 mathematics graduate of JSU.

Nesbit went on to earn a Bachelor of Science in mechanical engineering from North Carolina Agricultural and Technical University. She has served as 1st Vice President and Business Manager of the Chicago Chapter of JSUNAA. She is currently the Student Recruitment Chair for the JSUNAA.

Smith earned a Bachelor of Science in Chemistry from JSU in 1998. She lives in Houston, Texas, where she works as a science teacher with the Houston Independent School District. Smith is the 1st Vice President of Student Recruitment for the Houston Area Chapter.

The Alumnus of the Year award was presented to Kathy L. Berry. Berry earned a Bachelor of Science in Mass Communications in 1984 and a Master of Arts in English in 1986. Berry has served as Information Officer, Vice President and President of the Milwaukee Chapter of the JSUNAA. She also serves as the Coordinator of Professional Education Programs in the School of Education at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee.

This year’s Hall of Fame induction included Illinois State Senator Mattie Hunter. The Master’s of Arts in Sociology graduate has served in the Illinois State Legislature since 2003. She holds a plethora of other public service positions such as Chairperson of the Human Services Committee and Vice-Chairperson of the Public Health Committee.

Other awardees include longtime JSUNAA member Patsy Johnson, who earned an award for her dedicated services. Class of 2008 graduate Andrell Harris won the award for being the conference’s top sponsor.

-Darrell Robinson, Jr.

Leave a comment