JSU announces second cohort of faculty scholars

(JACKSON, Miss.) — The Jackson State University Academy for Research and Scholarly Engagement is pleased to announce its second cohort of scholars. The applications were reviewed by a diverse panel of administrators, deans, department chairs and faculty.

The 17 scholars comprising the second cohort represent all five colleges at JSU and International Studies. They are Dr. David Akombo, Department of Music; Dr. Tabitha Otieno, Department of Social and Cultural Studies; Dr. Chung-Fan Chang, Department of Art; Dr. Marcica Pacurari, Department of Biology; Dr. Helen Crump, Department of English and Modern Foreign Languages; Dr. Yumi Park, Department of Art; Dr. Fengxiang Han, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry; Dr. Nola Radford, Department of Communicative Disorders; Dr. Tracy Harris, Department of Early Childhood and Elementary Education; Dr. Lomarsh Roopnarine, Department of History and Philosophy; Dr. Jie Ke, School of Lifelong Learning; Dr. Gina Scutelnicu, Department of Public Policy and Administration; Dr. Ying Liu, International Studies; Dr. Leniece Smith, Department of Political Science; Dr. Jeton McClinton, Department of Educational Leadership; Dr. Palaniappan Thiagarajan, Department of Management and Marketing; and Dr. Victor Ogungbe, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry.

The JSU Academy for Research and Scholarly Engagement will consist of an academic-year program that will include a series of workshops, collaboration with an academy coach through the entire grant writing process, and scheduled interactions with program officers from funding agencies and foundations. Each faculty participant will be paired with an academy coach who is selected from active researchers at JSU.

The purpose of the Academy for Research and Scholarly Engagement is to advance the careers of promising young researchers and emerging scholars by ensuring that they establish a compelling research agenda, participate in a community of scholars, and obtain external funding.

The Center for University Scholars is funded through Title III and the Division of Research and Federal Relations.  The program aims to ensure scholars at Jackson State receive the appropriate support to broaden the university’s research agenda and enhance the faculty development activities at the institution.

For more information, visit the Academy’s website at http://sites.jsums.edu/scholarlyengagementacademy/ or contact Dr. Loretta A. Moore at 601-979-0552 or loretta.a.moore@jsums.edu.

Leave a comment